The Jedi Path – Beliefs of Real-World Jedi

Jedi came into being with George Lucas’ Star Wars franchise. But in creating an order of warrior monks, guided by a universal essence known as “the Force”, Lucas’ work drew from much older traditions – specifically, Samurai, Taoism and the archetypal myth of the Hero’s Journey, among many others.

I have been walking the Jedi path for 5 or more years now. Over this time I have realised that too much homogenisation, too much “one truth only”-ness is not a sensible approach to something as personal as a spiritual path. People believe what they believe, and some of them call themselves or their beliefs “Jedi”. But there are some common threads, and some common misconceptions, in the midst of this:

Jedi (mostly) believe:

  • In a unifying, fundamental “thing” which is the basic truth, essence or driving spirit/motion/power in the universe, which we habitually call The Force.
  • In acting to increase harmony or find balance with the Force.
  • That throughout history, many people from many traditions have exhibited, studied or spoken on topics with relevance and value to the Jedi path.

Jedi (mostly) do not believe:

  • In powers like levitating objects or reading minds using the Force.
  • That Star Wars is real.
  • In wearing robes or carrying lightsabers.

Many Jedi believe:

  • That the Force is what we call God.
  • In no God.
  • In a religion or tradition, from seemingly similar traditions like Taoism or Buddhism, all the way through to Christianity.
  • In no religion and no faith-based practice.
  • In belonging to a structured Temple or Order.
  • In solo or fraternal practice.
  • In energy work.
  • That energy work is meaningless.
  • In physical force to protect or defend oneself and others.
  • In non-violence.

Are Jedi…

  • Vegetarian?
  • Male?
  • Pro-LGBTQ rights?
  • Feminist?
  • Hippies?
  • Commies?
  • Stupid?
  • Sci-fi nerds?

The answer to all the above (and more)? SOMETIMES!

You see that pretty few things are true for all Jedi. But why do people adopt this name? Why follow a path so rooted in science fiction? Isn’t this all just geeky nonsense, which no-one really takes seriously?

How did you get into this?

For my part, I was always drawn to the Jedi in Star Wars, always wanted to know more about their beliefs, practices, ideas. Jedi were, basically, cool! I loved the mythos, the enigmatic and hinted-at depths in what they believed. More than that, the notion of a single, underlying unity to all existence really spoke to my own personal beliefs. I remember as a child, realising that beneath every perceptual distinction, there was a very real sense in which everything was the same – connected, unified.

So, when I came upon my first Jedi community, I viewed them with a degree of hesitation. Who were these guys? Did they really wave around plastic sabers, and wear brown hoodies? I quickly found a mixture of both the role-player types I expected, and a few very engaged individuals pursuing Jediism on an academic, philosophical level. This piqued my interest. I’m a Philosophy grad, I have a background in this style of study and debate which was an itch I’d been unable to scratch for the 10 or so years since University. So initially I engaged on this level.

However, as I studied more, learned more, and importantly grew more myself, I became more and more convinced there was more to this path than flat fandom, or philosophical debate. I began making small changes to serve my community. To be more balanced in my dealings with and thoughts about others. To appreciate the underlying “sameness” of everything. And my life got better.

Years passed, I trained under several Masters, gained my Knighthood at a Jedi Temple, trained two Apprentices of my own to Knighthood. I was a member of a Jedi Clergy, gaining the clerical rank of Jedi Priest, and through more study was promoted to Senior Knight. There is a lot of structure available in some organisations, but for me, the more structure, the less individual growth is required. Additionally, the politics of a Jedi Temple were unpleasant at best, and a distraction at worst. These days, I work alone, although I am still in contact with many Jedi through other channels.

At the most fundamental level, I believe in the Force, and I believe in increasing harmony in the universe. I am very influenced by Taoism and Zen in my practice, broadening my understanding of these being key areas of my philosophical path. But beyond either of these traditions, I believe in a sense of pushing to make things “brighter”. To handle things with the “light side” answers. For me, this is beyond what’s called for in Taoism, and for me, this is why I make the distinction.

Plus, you know what? Being a Jedi IS cool! Being a Jedi is about being inclusive, holistic. Being a Jedi is new, it’s relevant and fresh, it doesn’t carry thousands of years of dogma and structure. It’s therefore so much more malleable than those other, older traditions.

It fits me. I’ve never found anything else which fits me so well.

How do I become a Jedi?

So, you want to be a Jedi?

Do you believe what’s at the top of this page? The stuff about one underlying essence (etc)? Do you want to work in harmony with this essence to create balance in the universe? Do you believe yourself free to take on this path? Are you ready to dedicate yourself to it, at least for the foreseeable future?

If you can answer “yes” to these, you are free to call yourself a Jedi.

You might be a Christian Jedi, a Buddhist Jedi, a Vegan Jedi, a Feminist Jedi. But if you believe in the Force, and in increasing harmony with it, and if you are not already so involved with some other path that you’re not free to purse knowledge of and harmony with the Force as a primary goal in you life, then you are a Jedi.

That’s all there is to it. No entrance exam. You want in? You’re in.

How do I become a Knight?

Ah, this one is trickier.

When I was a member of a Temple, there was a clear, very detailed process for this. One completed an initial course, sought to attract the interest of a Master, petitioned the Council to form an Apprenticeship, completed assignments with points values attached for no less than 6 months, accrued a certain number of points, had a formal interview with the Council, and, all being well, was made a Knight. There are a number of Temples and organisations out there, requiring different standards to achieve a rank of Knight. If you feel that such an organisation is a suitable fit for your path, by all means, go for it.

Outside of this structure, I don’t have a definitive answer. I suggest the Master/Apprentice relationship works well, if there is a mutual respect, and a mutual commitment. This should include some statement of what each can expect from the other. There should, I think, be a minimum time-frame for this, specified at the outset. Once the Master is satisfied the Apprentice has reached an understanding of themselves, and the wider Force, then I feel it should be at the Master’s discretion to confer Knighthood.

I wonder if I will be asked to train an Apprentice again, and if so what my answer would be. I have written many lessons, and completed many more. I have ideas for training and working with those new to this path. But beneath that, I have some fundamental questions I am not sure of the answers to. What is the value of the Knight rank, I wonder? Typically it is the benchmark after which a Jedi may take an Apprentice of their own. When one takes an Apprentice, there is a whole new tier of learning. My Apprentices are both wise people, and taught me much about the Force. When they became Knights, we were truly brothers, sharing a knowledge and understanding of the Force.

My first question for anyone wishing to become a Knight, is: why?

There are so many things one can devote their time to. I believe study of the Force is a wise use of one’s time and energy, but the pursuit of rank., or of the capacity to teach, is not a good enough reason in itself. Better is the pursuit of self-realisation – self-knowledge, self-improvement, self-awareness – for the benefit of the wider Force. That could mean being a better you to help your family, or the people you work with. It could mean understanding ways you negatively impact your local community and working to address them. Or, it could mean understanding your own strengths then making commitments or taking responsibilities which capitalise on these.

If you are planning on taking a Master, I suggest you ask to see some evidence of their work – their journals, their lesson plans, their ideas and thoughts and reflections. Find someone who walks it as they talk it. I have seen many led astray by individuals who claim to be Jedi Masters, “Grand Masters” even, who have not even undertaken the most basic training requirement they seek in an Apprentice. What basis for mutual respect is that, I wonder?

If you would like to know more about Knightood, including reflections on whether an individual seems “legitimate” or not and guidance on choosing a Master, please feel free to contact me.


Hopefully this answers some core questions about real-world Jediism (aka Jedi Realism, Force Realism etc). The names and structures vary wildly, but the overview remains consistent.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started